Jump to content

https://the-overlord.com/FilesMonolith/BGCC2_Banniere_TO_Annonce.png

Ken

Tales of the North

Recommended Posts

TalesFromTheNorth.jpg.5e07d43177031a1a52abe4939366395b.thumb.jpg.bea7f764cc36a7ada10631812ffb5598.jpg

 

Reposting for Dan...

 

Tales of the North v4.pdf

 

Welcome to the North! 

I am thrilled to present my first ever collection of home-made scenarios for Conan by Monolith. Tales of the North is a collaborative effort between Ken Meyri and myself to collect 6 scenarios based on the Norheim expansion in a nice downloadable PDF booklet format. 

Tales of the North features a 3 page fan fiction intro, 3 scenarios that have been previously posted on the Overlord, along with 3 brand new scenarios exclusive to this booklet. 

Kunnia: a brand new scenario that involves sled dog racing! Fast, furious and replayable. Try it as a tounament. 

The Blasphemy of Gwaednerth: more of an encounter than a scenario, written to highlight a new miniature from Barbaric Splendor. (www.barbaricsplendor.com) Includes a new Hero card. 

Rescue in Nordheim: co-written with Ken, this scenario brings the story begun in the introduction to a chilling conclusion. 

Please enjoy and let me know what you think. Maybe, if there's enough interest, we will do a booklet for one of the other big box expansions in the future. 

(Tales of the North requires a King Pledgle and the Nordheim, Vanir Valkyrie, Demon of the Earth, Giant Wolves and Crossbowmen expansions. Components from Stygia and Corinthia are also used but substitution suggestions are made within the scenarios.)

 

  • Like 5
  • Thanks 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for helping me out Ken. I apparently didn't save my original post. Sorry for the confusion.

 

So here it is folks! Tales from the North! (see above to download. 🙂 )

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I'm giving a shot at a french translation.

I have a question regarding the 1st scenario (First Mistake, Last Mistake) :

 

Nature's Foul Children: Overlord gains 3 reinforcement points to use on Crows. No more than 5 Crows models may be on the board. Crows may be placed on either rocky outcrop space.

 

I assume the last sentence means that the reinforcement crows must be placed on one and/or both rocky outcrop spaces (i.e. spaces where the 2 crows start on setup).

Correct?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

You're much welcome.

Though, there's still work to do. At the moment, the prologue and all the scenarios' intros are translated. The bulk of the scenarios remains.

 

Unrelated : if anyone is interested in doing a FR to EN translation, there's a nice mini-campaign here: 

https://the-overlord.com/index.php?/topic/2490-le-sorcier-rouge-mini-campagne-en-3-actes/

 

 

Edited by Roolz
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Wow!... I’m blown away by the efforts the community is making with home-brewed scenarios. In fact, calling them home-brewed is misleading. It might be accurate, but honestly, most of the scenarios showing up here on The Overlord are as good, or better, than any ‘official’ scenario. So far the ones I’ve tried out and studied are balanced and, most importantly, they have very concise and detailed rules. One of the only complaints I’ve had about some of the ‘official’ scenarios is in the details. There have been a number of scenarios that led to BIG rule questions in my group, which are simply not answered in the descriptions.

Great job addressing all of the possible questions that could arise while playing these awesomely fun scenarios!!!

  • Like 5

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

@Epaka

 

Thanks for taking the time to get back to us. Feedback is critical to these homebrewed efforts. We are very aware that homebrew efforts have a less than stellar reputation. Let's be honest there are some sub par attempts out there. Or some are posted that weren't ready yet. It's a bummer to waste your time on a flop. I understand and agree with that. But more often than not we don't receive any feedback so we tend to assume everything is working just fine.

 

 It's always good to hear what we have done right and even what can be improved upon. Believe it or or not the group that I've worked with most is actually open to hearing constructive criticism. Writing these can be tricky because you tend to develop blind spots. Because as a writer you know what you mean, but someone else may not. An outside set of eyes seeing it for the first time is very helpful.

 

 It's very encouraging to know that these projects are being played, understood and enjoyed. Hopefully we can bring you more. Thank you.

  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Okay, second scenario (Ladies' night), second question :) :

 

Fat Oaf : [...] While Hampered Seski's Armor value is at -1 and he attacks with 1 less Red Die due to not being able to maneuver in the tight spaces. [...]

 

Does it mean that his original 2 Armor is reduced by 1 (i.e. final stat = 1 Armor), or that his original 2 armor becomes -1  (i.e. final stat = -1 Armor, which means he takes 1 auto-extra-damage each time he is hit...).

 

 

Edited by Roolz
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks !

 

A few other questions for the following scenario (Better Be Worth My Trouble):

 

Conan the Mercenary (conan's sword, axe, cape, torch) Starts with Conan's Sword and the torch equipped. Place the Atali card in the Heroes' area.

Last sentence means Atali's tile is placed somewhere on the table, on the Heroes players side, right ?

 

Giant Wolf models are not removed from the board, if one is killed the Overlord places it on an unoccupied area on the edge of the board. If necessary, the Overlord may put 2 Giant Wolf models on a space.

Does it means that when several wolves are killed, the OL has to put them back, but no more than 2 wolf minis per free area on the edge of the board ? If so, what happens if there is not enough free areas to place all killed wolves (unlikely, I know) ?

 

Fleeing : A Character can flee the board from an area with a Reinforcement token by spending movement points as though moving across a border. Once a Character has fled, they cannot be returned to the board.

These the 2 areas to where Heroes have to escort Atali to win the game, right ?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Atali's tile is placed on the Hero playesrs ide of the table of the table for them to use.

 

Wolves- it means more than one wolf may be placed in an area if needed. If there is an open area the wolf should be placed in it. If there is no open area the Overlord may start putting another wolf in each area. Does that make sense?

 

Fleeing- yes. Atali must be escorted off the board from one of those areas for the Heroes to win.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

My pleasure :)

 

A question regarding the 4th scenario (Kunnia) :

 

Conan the Wanderer (conan's sword) Use a Hyena model and a Hyenas tile to represent Conan's Sled Dog. Has Bodyguard Skill.

Conan has the Bodyguard skill, not the dog, right ? (cf. special rules "While in the same area as the Sled Dog a Hero is considered to have the Bodyguard skill.")

Same for Niord of course.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

And another one... (same scenario) :

 

A Hero may only ever make 1 attack in an area before they either have to move or end their turn.

It means that either the hero (+dog) moves, then attacks once, or he attacks once then moves. Then he ends his turn. Correct?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Correct. Those are the options. This is to simulate that the dog sled is constantly in motion. So a Hero can only make one attack in an area before he must move again or end his turn. Therefore a Hero can move into an area, make an attack then choose to move again or end his turn. Or to start his turn he may attack once then move.

 

Make sense? 🙂

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
16 hours ago, drmauric said:

Correct. Those are the options. This is to simulate that the dog sled is constantly in motion. So a Hero can only make one attack in an area before he must move again or end his turn. Therefore a Hero can move into an area, make an attack then choose to move again or end his turn. Or to start his turn he may attack once then move.

 

Make sense? 🙂

Sure.

Can a sum it up by simply writing in french :  "A hero can only make 1 single Attack per turn" ?

If I'm correct, if you interrupt a "free" move by attacking, as per the regular rules the remaining base movement points are lost and you have to use gems if you want to move again.

 

 

Other questions, regarding the next scenario (The Blasphemy of Gwaednerth).

Equipped with : sacrifical dagger. Spells : Return Of The Braves. Place a Civilian tile next to the Overlord's area.

[...]

Sacrifice : If Skuthus kills a Civilian in the area at the top of the hill, marked with an *, the Civilian is considered sacrificed to the gods of the hills.

 

I am not familiar with the civilians/villagers, since I don't have Corinthia. If I'm correct they have 2 Mvt, 0 Armor, 1YD Attack. 

How does Skuthus kill them? Do they move and/or defend themselves? If not, I cannot picture how the hero can win this scenario.

 

 

 

Edited by Roolz

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A better summary would be "A hero can only make 1 single attack per turn per area he moves into". Because if he uses gems to move out of an area he may make an attack in the next area.

 

I'll need to look at The Blasphemy of Gwaednerth to answer the other question. I'll get back to you later today.

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

OK, I may be a bit dense :)...

So just to be sure, is the following allowed (if the hero has enough gems of course) ? :

0-Hero starts his turn in area A.
1-He attacks in area A.
2-He moves into area B (free move).
3-He attacks in area B.
4-Finally he moves into area C (bonus gem move).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yes. That is allowed. And he could also attack in area C if he had enough gems.

 

And please don't feel dense. I also feel dense trying to explain it. 🙂

I appreciate the questions, I want this to be as clear as possible for 

everyone.

Edited by drmauric

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×

Important Information

Our website uses cookies to guarantee you the best navigation. By continuing your visit, you confirm that you accept these cookies. Our Cookie Policy has other terms. Privacy Policy