Jump to content
sarumanthewhite

Overlord Rerolls

Recommended Posts

Hi folks,

 

Reading the 2nd edition rules, it's clear that players can reroll a single die multiple times.  

 

Questions:

 

1) If you have multiple free rerolls (e.g. Dark Demon) can you reroll a single die multiple times with this?  Presumably, you can spend gems after this to reroll as you'd like.

 

2) Can the overlord do this as well (either with a free reroll and subsequent gems or multiple gems)?

 

Thanks,  Cliff 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

A free reroll affects a single dice. Let's say you roll :orangerel::orangerel: And you are happy with the result of one dice but you want to reroll the other. After rerolling you still get a poor result and you want to reroll again. In this case you cannot use the free reroll of the other dice (even if it's the same color) to reroll a second time, you'll need to spend gems.

 

After the initial roll, including free rerolls if any, you can spend as many gems as you want to reroll dice ( heroes and Overlord alike).

 

Of course if you have rolled to attack and your opponent has rolled to defend, you can't spend any more gems to reroll your attack dice. You can do that only during your attack roll.

 

At least this is how I understand it.

Edited by Arthadan
  • Like 3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That's not how I understand the rules. Two yellow dice with re-roll symbols means that after rolling the dice you have up to two re-rolls for any of the yellow dice. Which means you can re-roll the same yellow die twice. I felt that was made very clear in the first edition of the rules. Perhaps I need to take a closer look at the V2 rules...

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On the fourth page of the Heroes Rulebook, second version, it is written:

 

Quote

The arrow on a die icon means that the player may reroll one die of the matching type once for free (without performing a Reroll action).

 

It seems to me that about this, @Arthadan's way to play is canon, and yours, @Epaka, is a variant. :wink:

Edited by Not Quite Dead
Spelling
  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I still read this the way I play it. An arrow means you may re-roll one die of that TYPE, it does not say that SPECIFIC die. 

Would love an official ruling from Monolith. Hello Matt John?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Well, as a French-speaker, I may be mistaken, but the rule seems to state:

 

The player may reroll one die once for free. If it is written that one dice may be reroll once, doesn't that exclude the fact of rerolling that very die twice, or thrice, or 'n' times?

 

The French version of the rule states:

Quote

Le symbole flèche au-dessus d'un dé signifie que n'importe quel dé de cette couleur pourra être relancé gratuitement une seule fois.

which I would translate roughly by:

The arrow on a die means that any die of that color may be rerolled for free only one time.

 

The French expression Une seule fois being quite close of the English word once in my opinion.

 

As you said, @Epaka, it would be good to get some official answer about that. Maybe someone of Monolith, like @tony could clear this up?

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

That statement refers to one arrow allowing one re-roll of any die of that type. It stands to reason that if a character tile like the Archers shows two yellow dice with two re-roll arrows, the same die may be re-rolled twice. That was made very explicit in the original rule book, but I agree that it isn't made as clear in Version 2 rules. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 31/08/2017 at 1:27 PM, Arthadan said:

A free reroll affects a single dice. Let's say you roll :orangerel::orangerel: And you are happy with the result of one dice but you want to reroll the other. After rerolling you still get a poor result and you want to reroll again. In this case you cannot use the free reroll of the other dice (even if it's the same color) to reroll a second time, you'll need to spend gems.

 

After the initial roll, including free rerolls if any, you can spend as many gems as you want to reroll dice ( heroes and Overlord alike).

 

Of course if you have rolled to attack and your opponent has rolled to defend, you can't spend any more gems to reroll your attack dice. You can do that only during your attack roll.

 

 

Arthadan is right, and the official answer already given on BGG :

 

Quote

Each die can only be re-rolled for free once
You can roll, re-roll for free (if the die shows the arrow on top), but each new re-roll has to be paid in gems; even if you have "left outs" from the other re-rollable dice

 

  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
On 20/09/2017 at 7:17 PM, Pallantides said:

 

Arthadan is right, and the official answer already given on BGG :

 

 

 

Pallantides is right.

 

The only exception to that rule is the Support skill.

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Thanks for the clarification, I fully acknowledge my confusion regarding this rule. Much appreciated!

Awesome to have this forum around. I visit BGG as well from time to time, but it is really great to have a forum dedicated to this excellent game. 

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Turns out, originally you were allowed to re-roll the same die multiple times as long as you had re-roll symbols (of the same color die) to spare. That got axed somewhere along the way. I still play allowing the multiple re-rolls and intend to keep doing so. But officially, this is wrong. 

 

 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Our website uses cookies to guarantee you the best navigation. By continuing your visit, you confirm that you accept these cookies. Our Cookie Policy has other terms. Privacy Policy